I am an Idiot

Introduce yourself here
TimQ

I am an Idiot

Post by TimQ »

Hello, My name is Tim, and yes I am an idiot. With that being said I really need help. I live on the coast of south Carolina in salt water. I left my 16ft aluminum boat in the water too long and when I pulled it out a couple of weeks
ago it was covered in barnacles. I have scrapped them off but had to sand to get the rest off, which brought me down to bare metal. I have no experience in anti fouling paint, but have been researching online. The best I have
come up with on my own is to use Trilux 33. I trailer my boat after use. I saw some posts of prepping bare aluminum with rustoleum self etching primer. But I really don't want to make any mistakes and have to do the job over.
I was going to put 5200 sealant over the rivets while in the process. I would appreciate any help in this matter. Thanks in advance. Tim
Napa Mike

Re: I am an Idiot

Post by Napa Mike »

welcome Tim. There are several guys on the board who are experts on this--but sadly not me. Chaps or one of the others will see your post and get you some answers. Meanwhile, welcome.

Cheers,
Mike
Chaps
Donator '09

Post by Chaps »