Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

Electrical/Electronics discussion
BCTony
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:02 am

Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

#1

Post by BCTony » Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:21 pm

Has anyone used these combinations of transducer (or the transom mount versions) in conjunction with Simrad NSS series chartplotter/fishfinder? I am endeavoring to obtain first hand experiences in saltwater. I am concerned that perhaps not all the power of a 1k transducer can be fully utilised and am wondering if I should perhaps be looking at Garmin or Furuno. Up until now I have had Lowrance HDS Gen1 and have for the most part been disappointed with its fishfinder performance at sea. I like the Simrad autopilot which I want to use and can operate through a NSS screen. (I realise that Lowrance and Simrad are part of the same group).

User avatar
goatram
Doator '08, '09, '10, '11, '12, '13, '14, '15, '16, '17
Posts: 1957
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:53 pm
Location: Stanwood WA

Re: Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

#2

Post by goatram » Sun Jun 02, 2013 2:00 pm

I put in SS264N. It is two 4.5" holes thru the bottom of my hull to mount. Gil aka simperfifishing from the hull truth sold it to me new in the box. Holds bottom at 47 mph. I have not a lot of time with it yet and it is connected to a set of HDS 10's. About all I can say till I get some more time with it

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
John Risser aka goatram
33' RBW with twin 250 Hondas (Aliens)
2015 Ford F350 Dually
Master of R&D aka Ripoff and Duplicate

BCTony
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 2:02 am

Re: Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

#3

Post by BCTony » Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:38 pm

goatram wrote:I put in SS264N. It is two 4.5" holes thru the bottom of my hull to mount. Gil aka simperfifishing from the hull truth sold it to me new in the box. Holds bottom at 47 mph. I have not a lot of time with it yet and it is connected to a set of HDS 10's. About all I can say till I get some more time with it

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
Thanks John. I got a little muddled with my numbers and of course I meant a SS264W Pair which is what I am looking at for when trolling coupled with a SS64 or SS164 for general use. Everything always looks and sounds great until I get it on my boat. That is why I am keen to get some first hand reports.

To correct the numbers:- TM260, B260 and SS260 are the same as SS264N Pair; the SS270W is the same as the SS264W Pair.

User avatar
goatram
Doator '08, '09, '10, '11, '12, '13, '14, '15, '16, '17
Posts: 1957
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:53 pm
Location: Stanwood WA

Re: Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

#4

Post by goatram » Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:41 am

Gil Knows his topic of Ducers. I have bought two from him already. a P66 and the SS264N. The Narrow one over the Wide for target separation from the 50 to the 200 Hertz beams. My HDS can't use all of the 1000 watts that the ducers put out. Give him a shout and talk to him.
John Risser aka goatram
33' RBW with twin 250 Hondas (Aliens)
2015 Ford F350 Dually
Master of R&D aka Ripoff and Duplicate

West Lake Willows
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:28 am

Re: Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

#5

Post by West Lake Willows » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:21 pm

I have the ss264 1kw 20deg 200khz ducer with the NSS unit. Also run this same ducer on a furuno 585. I have not run it in salt water but have run it in 600 ft briefly most of my fishing is under 200'. I'm happy to chat by email scott@bayofquintecharters.com or by cell 613-848-4213.

Scott

West Lake Willows
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:28 am

Re: Airmar SS260, SS270 or SS270W with Simrad NSS12

#6

Post by West Lake Willows » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:23 pm

I also have the ap24 fully networked to the NSS units. Absolutely love that

Scott

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic