Albacore Tuna tackle

Need a Tackle FIX?, This is the Place
Sculpin

Albacore Tuna tackle

Post by Sculpin »

I walked into Pacific Net and Twine today and came out with this stuff.........

Need to find some cedar plugs now as they don't carry them. Any good sources online for them?
John
Sculpin
23' Edwing

"Trying to go for tuna on the cheap you are asking for trouble. The ocean is a mean LITTLE GIRL that wants to kill you". - Shawn Hillier
Chaps
Donator '09

Re: Albacore Tuna tackle

Post by Chaps »

Believe it or not . . . Amazon
1987 24' LaConner pilothouse workboat, 225 Suzuki
please view and like: https://www.facebook.com/bottompainting/
Sculpin

Post by Sculpin »

Chaps wrote:Believe it or not . . . Amazon
Thanks Chaps. Anything you would suggest adding or deleting from this basic "kit". I'm new to the game and ready to join the "dark side" as goatram pointed out ha ha!

Not alot of gear up here locally and PNT is a commerial/sporty place and most of the tuna gear is for commercial guys running hand lines etc. apparently the blue green Zukers with green mylar heads are the most popular with the commies up here. Any info would be greatly appreciated as I am going for it middle of next week or next weekend (weather depending) :joecool:
John
Sculpin
23' Edwing

"Trying to go for tuna on the cheap you are asking for trouble. The ocean is a mean LITTLE GIRL that wants to kill you". - Shawn Hillier
goatram
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

Post by goatram »

John I am at work so I can not take a picture of my gear for show and tell; Butt
Swim baits and lead heads are useful. See here
http://www.qcove.com/products/productpa ... heads.html
Mello
Cabellas and Bass proshops have cedar plugs. You will need Ice and a place to store it ie Big coolers. A lot to learn in a week.

I deleted the cloro and temp shot so as not be in Violation of certain rules
Last edited by goatram on Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:22 am, edited 1 time in total.