Keel Cooler Extrusions

Mods and custom builds
ReelSong

Keel Cooler Extrusions

Post by ReelSong »

Russ? Bruce?

I'm looking for aluminum extrusion used for Keel cooling a 3cyl mitsubishi was hoping someone might have some suggestions
Chaps
Donator '09

Re: Keel Cooler Extrusions

Post by Chaps »

As a bottom painter I've seen a lot of half-pipe welded on hull plating for auxiliary engine keel cooling and worked on a boat once that had an empty boxed keel, hot into one end, cool out the other end. Looked like a length of square tube with a side cut off and pipe fitted over the keel. Wish I had a picture of that one.

Maybe this is what they used, Alaskan Copper in Seattle has this.
channel.jpg
1987 24' LaConner pilothouse workboat, 225 Suzuki
please view and like: https://www.facebook.com/bottompainting/
kmorin
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

Post by kmorin »

reelsong, I've used 5086 welded to 5086 hulls to provide a void to circulate engine coolant but not ever found an extrusion that was available. I'm not saying extrusions won't do the job but I wanted a low profile shape that was smooth cornered or 'no-cornered' to allow better water flow and increased area relative to the cross section of the liquid being cooled.

So I had a shop in Puget Sound (not sure where all done via my local Alaskan metal supplier) shear two strips of 1/4" 5086 H-116 off the side of one or the 20' sheets in that boat's order. This shop had a 20' bed press and I had a pair of 4" wide very open angle channels made.

This channel's legs were only 45 deg to the back or web so the entire shape was only about 1" deep but 4" wide and was able to bend to the curve of the hull by hand. The two outer legs were sheared edges, but since they were at 45 deg to the surface of the hull, due to the pressing, they formed a nice V groove to weld to the hull sheet/plate.