New unproven design question

Mods and custom builds
Cbavor

New unproven design question

Post by Cbavor »

Hi I'm new here . My first post . I've been reading a lot . Lots of great info here .
I'm a welder fabricator in CT been working in the marine industry my whole life . I've been wanting to build an alum. boat for a long time . I've worked on and modified and fixed many . I think an aluminum boat is def. the way to go ...
I'd like to build a trailerable cruiser around 28' x 9 feet or so . Not the usual west coat looking craft . I found a design by a designer in Maryland I really like . More old shcool east coast looking I think . I don't know . Any way . This design has not yet been built by anyone ,except for a tank test model that I know of .
So my question is how do I know this is a proven design and will work and handle well ? I've been on a few boats that look great but handle and ride very badly . I certainly don't want that . It will be used for mainly coastal cruising near shore . I' live on Long Island sound .
I thought for a while I might try and design one myself . But I'd rather be boating than designing and building the whole thing myself . I also thought since I'm by myself I'd try and have the hull built and finish the rest . Still a large job , I don't have a huge fat wallet though This boat is called , " sunset channel 24 " cruiser By Cerny yacht design . the designer said he could easily stretch it to 28 ' and said he thought when designing it it should be longer ..
Any thoughts, experience ideas and wisdom appreciated . Thanks
Cbavor ...
welderbob
Donator ,15

Re: New unproven design question

Post by welderbob »

with all of the money and work that is required to build a custom boat , why would you want to be the first one to build a new design. There are lots of designs on there website, but no pictures of real built aluminum boats.

welderbob
ReelSong

Post by ReelSong »