Advice needed on bilge corrosion.

General boating discussion
Mtb55

Advice needed on bilge corrosion.

Post by Mtb55 »

Hi guys I am relatively new to aluminum boat ownership so I've been lurking around this forum for the last few weeks trying to educate myself on proper maintenance procedures to make my boat last a long time. After reading about the importance of maintaining your bilge I decided to pull my floorboards and inspect what's going on down below. I found many corrosion spots, thankfully most had very minor pitting that I can barely feel when I run my finger nail over it, however the worst corrosion I found was a few patches on top of the box girders (see pictures 2&3 below), my guess is that this was from wet plywood floor boards laying on the girders. Going forward I'm going to remove the floor boards aft of the hard top area when the boat is being stored (which is outside) until I can save up enough money for a metal carport. Removing the floor boards will keep wet wood off aluminum girders and to allow the bilge to breath. I have washed the bilge with a very high pressure washer. Do you guys think I should do anything with the corrosion in the pictures? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Over views

Zoomed in

kmorin
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

Re: Advice needed on bilge corrosion.

Post by kmorin »

Mtb55, if its possible to etch with acid, rinse and then using a strong light at an oblique angle to inspect the surfaces (?) you'd get the best assessment of the need to take other remedial steps. For example once that area in the detail photo was etched and perhaps (best if possible) power rinsed/sprayed off with water then you'd have a better idea if the sides of the pits are still strong enough to warrant further escavation?