New guy looking for advice

General boating discussion
mryakker

New guy looking for advice

Post by mryakker »

Hi All,

I'm new to boating and came across your forum. My Wife and I recently moved to the west coast (Vancouver, BC) from the prairies and we're interested in exploring and fishing in the area. Originally we thought we would pick up a zodiac thinking they would be a good option since they are easy to move around and pull up on beaches until we realized they wouldn't be that enjoyable in the west coast rain.

This past weekend we attended the boat show and it was great for newbies like us to see all the options out there. What we got out of the show was the knowledge that we would probably be most comfortable in a 18'-20' for what we would want to use it for. The prices varied quite a bit and we felt like a bit of a salesman dream. Our goat for a boat is to find a good quality build that is also going to handle well. Since neither my wife or I have any boating experience, according to every salesman their boat & brand was much superior to the others. We did spend a lot of time chatting with some guys from marine one and they were pushing a new line of boats from Katanacraft (http://www.marineone.ca/2017-katanacraf ... in-stock=1). According to the salesman they are based out of Oregon (http://katanacraft.com) and have been making boats for the government agencies and now they are breaking into the rec line.

I've tried to research the company online but I haven't been able to find user testimonials good or bad. The original price point seems competitive but of course it does start to add up with some of the options. From what I can tell looking online and reading forums about aluminum boats there are a lot of smaller boat builders and the big names aren't always going to be the best. That said as a newbie it's also intimidating thinking I'm going to spend a small chunk of change on a new brand no one has heard of as well.