New guy from Alaska...introduction along with a question of course

General boating discussion
AKFISHRIPPER

New guy from Alaska...introduction along with a question of course

Post by AKFISHRIPPER »

Name is Chris I'm new to the forum but not necessarily new to boating. I'm an Air National Guard C-130 & C-17 mechanic by trade and own a small engine/trailer repair business on the side.

I'm putting together a plan to build my first aluminum boat. I have the welder, garage space, and a place to CNC lazer cut me the parts. I've decided to build a flat bottom "Dory" style boat in the 17-18' range with 30-36" sides but I'm having a really hard time finding plans for that exact size range. There are a ton of 20-24' plans that I guess I could always reduce in size but I thought I'd try here first and see if anyone had some insight.

The reason I'm choosing a dory style boat is due to the type of fishing I do. 90% of the time it will be launched by truck from the beach which is less than a foot deep for about 100 yards at low tide, ease of build for a first time project, and proven sea worthyness in comparable conditions such as the Oregon coast.

Thanks in advance guys
AKFISHRIPPER

Re: New guy from Alaska...introduction along with a question of course

Post by AKFISHRIPPER »

This is the exact one I want to build but he only has plans for wood, I sent an email but they could not provide aluminum plans. I'm assuming I could use the same measurements for the most part but the thickness of the wood may throw things off a little

http://www.glen-l.com/designs/workboat/littlehunk.html
Last edited by AKFISHRIPPER on Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Chaps
Donator '09

Post by Chaps »

calling K. Morin, APB
1987 24' LaConner pilothouse workboat, 225 Suzuki
please view and like: https://www.facebook.com/bottompainting/
kmorin
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

guy from Alaska..terminology of small boats?

Post by kmorin »