My first Albacor trip!!

Where & How You Fish Your Alloy Boat
Gundog
Sponsor/Donator

My first Albacor trip!!

Post by Gundog »

I decided to give albacore a try so Monday we left around 6 out of Brookings and ran 40 miles due West to some numbers that were given to me by a friend. The temp upon arrival at the given coordinates was 52* but I could see commercial boats trolling in the distance so I ran another 6 or so miles to the line they were trolling and dropped some gear in 57.9* water. I have never done this before but after reading allot about it on here I had an idea what to do. There was only 2 of us so we ran 4 poles 2 with cedar plugs and 2 with jigs. We caught fish on everything we had out. We trolled for about 10 minutes and I had our first one in the boat Tom lost the next one right at the boat but as soon as we got all the gear back in the water we had a triple and we landed them all. 2 guys with three fish on was a hoot.

We ended the day with 10 fish we could have caught more but we had agreed we only wanted 5 a piece before we left and so we quit when we had the 10. The boat did great 92 miles out and back + how ever many miles we trolled 33 gallons of fuel used. I left with 128.1 gallons and got back with 95.1 gallons.

I did not weigh any of the fish but I would guess the big ones were in the 20's and the smallest about 14#.

Mike

The pictures are too big to post so here is a link that has the pictures.
http://www.ifish.net/board/showthread.php?t=373240
goatram
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

Re: My first Albacor trip!!

Post by goatram »

Mike
Welcome to the darkside. Did you taste the blood? eat a Heart still pumping? A good fuel burn rate for your boat. congrats :thumbsup: :beer: !
John Risser aka goatram
33' RBW with twin 250 Hondas (Aliens)
2015 Ford F350 Dually
Master of R&D aka Ripoff and Duplicate
Sculpin

Post by Sculpin »