Is etching necessary on a new hull?

General boating discussion
submerged
Your location: B,C, Canada

Is etching necessary on a new hull?

Post by submerged »

Hi, I am new to Aluminumalloyboats.com and this is my first post. I have been reading through some of the threads and have come across quite a bit of info regarding mill scale on aluminum. I have come to the conclusion that ideally an aluminum boat should be acid etched to eliminate the mill scale, to avoid corrosion.

I am in the process of getting a boat built on Vancouver Island where I live and the manufacturer that I plan on using does not etch their boats. Should I be concerned by this? Is this a deal breaker, or can I easily etch it myself after I purchase it? I don't want to throw names out there, but this manufacturer is very popular and has built hundreds of boats with many happy customers.

I appreciate any replies/suggestions.

Cheers!
gandrfab
Your location: Edgewater Fl

Re: Is etching necessary on a new hull?

Post by gandrfab »

Welcome, :beer: you have come to the right place.
kmorin
Donator 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24
Your location: Kenai, AK

Post by kmorin »

submerged, as the self-appointed mill scale gnat-zee of the AAB.com site; I'll take a stab at a reply.

Your question seems to question bring up the question; Who's boat is it? Is this your boat? you're paying for it so you own it? Or is this boat the builders' property until he says it's yours? Maybe the question is "When does it become your boat?"

In the first instance you might be able to influence the issue of etching if you're inclined? but in the second instance perhaps the builder is not willing to accommodate your requirements (you did mention that YOU had concluded about mill scale) in which case you'll have to decide if you feel if etching is 'necessary'?