Welds

Mods and custom builds
Danielw

Welds

Post by Danielw »

G'day folks.I've been looking at a lot of boats on this site and in particular the welds(I'm a welder).It looks to me that a lot of the welds,especially on the cabs are made with tig as opposed to mig.Is this so the welds do not have to be ground as tig is a lot neater.To me it would add a lot of time to the build process as tig is quite slow in comparison.Maybe Jay could enlighten me as to the % of mig to tig on his boats.It certainly is a good look.Cheers,Dan.
JETTYWOLF
Contributor/donator/Location Nazi
Your location: JACKSONVILLE FL USA

Post by JETTYWOLF »

Being that I never really knew any better, the first time I saw a boat being "ground upon", I was wondering what the heck they doing that for?

I think it was a Aussie boat too...

I know mine a Pacific has no grinding done, and all the welds are visible, and very pretty.

NOT being a welder, (I just fish once in awhile.) I don't know any difference. So keep on going, and enlighten us or maybe just me. On the differences in systems, and the hows and why a grinder hits the welds.

I'm up for learning something new! :idea: :idea: :idea:
Chaps
Donator '09
Your location: Seattle, WA

Post by Chaps »

It seems the more expensive the boat the more tig welding, especially in the highly visible spots or where thin materials are being used or where the welds are so short that mig would be too difficult.

However, more builders are using the pulsed or pulse-on-pulse mig machines which in the right hands can produce welds that the uninitiated will think are done with tig but are accomplished at mig rates of speed.

I'm a welding rookie but I'm getting there
1987 24' LaConner pilothouse workboat, 225 Suzuki
please view and like: https://www.facebook.com/bottompainting/
Sculpin

Post by Sculpin »